Saying “баяртай” to Another Summer

A new school year has started again and it’s been a while since my last entry. It was really fun coming back to work and greeting teachers, making a firm work plan, and starting to develop more community projects. I feel so much more integrated into my community and slightly wiser in my second and last year, which is a good feeling.

For lack of time, I’m doing what I did last summer and showing you July and August through pictures.

My good friend Jonathan came to visit Mongolia in July!

My good friend Jonathan came to visit Mongolia in July!

Erdenet in Summer

Erdenet in Summer

Naadam festivities, a bird's-eye view from the Erdenet ferris wheel.

Naadam festivities, a bird’s-eye view from the Erdenet ferris wheel.

Although Naadam celebrates the "Three Manly Sports," women compete in archery and horse racing.

Although Naadam celebrates the “Three Manly Sports,” women compete in archery and horse racing.

I finally rode a camel.

I finally rode a camel.

Wrestling at Erdenet Naadam

Wrestling at Erdenet Naadam

Out at the horse races with Khongoroo, my neighbor and one of my teachers.

Out at the horse races with Khongoroo, my neighbor and teacher.

Horse races took place outside Erdenet in the countryside where we took my family in June.

Horse races took place outside Erdenet in the countryside where we took my family in June.

We visited Lake Khuvsgul in July and it was the most beautiful place I've seen in Mongolia!

We visited Lake Khuvsgul in July and it was the most beautiful place I’ve seen in Mongolia!

We stayed at a ger camp in the pine forests, right on the shore. The nights are really cool in July and the days fresh and sunny.

We stayed at a ger camp in the pine forests, right on the shore. The nights are really cool in July and the days fresh and sunny.

Baby yaks!

Baby yaks!

The lake reminded me of lakes in Northern Michigan. Khuvsgul is one of Mongolia's largest lakes and thousands of people, Mongolian and foreign, visit every year.

The lake reminded me of lakes in Northern Michigan. Khuvsgul is one of Mongolia’s largest lakes and thousands of people, Mongolian and foreign, visit every year.

The Sukhbaatar III, Mongolia's only naval vessel. We took a 2-hour ride on it and it was so fun to be on a boat in landlocked Mongolia.

The Sukhbaatar III, Mongolia’s only naval vessel. We took a 2-hour ride on it and it was so fun to be on a boat in landlocked Mongolia.

I visited my host family in Javkhlant later in the summer. Michelle, Anu-Ujin, and I.

I visited my host family in Javkhlant later in the summer. Michelle, Anu-Ujin, and I.

I visited my host family in Javkhlant later in the summer. Michelle and her cousin, riding a horse in the countryside.

Michelle and her cousin, riding a horse in the countryside.

Anu-Ujin has gotten so big! This shirt was amazing too, but hard to translate into Mongolian for my host mom.

Anu-Ujin has gotten so big! This shirt was amazing too, but hard to translate into Mongolian for my host mom.

My cousin Zaya and I. Zaya will be in 12th grade this year and wants to go to university to be a doctor.She is so sweet and has so many responsibilities in her family, like most teenage girls in the countryside.

My cousin Zaya and I. Zaya will be in 12th grade this year and wants to go to university to be a doctor.She is so sweet and has so many responsibilities in her family, like most teenage girls in the countryside.

I'm standing between my host parents, and the others are my host dad's sister and brother and their families.

I’m standing between my host parents, and the others are my host dad’s sister and brother and their families.

My beautiful, wonderful host siblings! Michelle, Bat-Erdene, and Anuka.

My beautiful, wonderful host siblings! Michelle, Bat-Erdene, and Anuka.

In August we went to work at Enerel Tuv's camp (the orphanage we've been working at in Erdenet). We did English and Healthy living activities. Here's the Human Knot!

In August we went to work at Enerel Tuv’s camp (the orphanage we’ve been working at in Erdenet). We did English and Healthy living activities. Here’s the Human Knot!

We were in a beautiful spot outside Erdenet, surrounded by tree-covered hills and wildflowers. The second day it rained the most I've ever seen it rain in Mongolia: over 24 hours straight.

We were in a beautiful spot outside Erdenet, surrounded by tree-covered hills and wildflowers. The second day it rained the most I’ve ever seen it rain in Mongolia: over 24 hours straight.

During an English "class."

During an English “class.”

Playing basketball

Playing basketball

My site mate Dan teaching some Mongolian sign language to teachers and older children.

My site mate Dan teaching some Mongolian sign language to teachers and older children.

Singing English songs with the younger kids!

Singing English songs with the younger kids and Munguu, one of our volunteer teachers.

The last night we were there, we had a fire, made s'mores, and had a dance party.

The last night we were there, we had a fire, made s’mores, and had a dance party.

These wonderful girls.

These wonderful girls.

The Enerel Camp was one of the best parts of my summer. I can't wait to continue to work with the kids and teachers there this year!

The Enerel Camp was one of the best parts of my summer. I can’t wait to continue to work with the kids and teachers there this year!

I hope to post something more focused and themed soon. In the meantime, I’m teaching, training, learning, planning, eating, yoga-ing, writing, and applying!

One thought on “Saying “баяртай” to Another Summer

Leave a Reply

